Dennis Enarson, Sergio Layos, Larry Edgar / Photo: Colin Mackay
Mar 05, 2017

Sergio Layos Wins Vans BMX Pro Cup Sydney Global Qualifier

Stunning Performances by Dennis Enarson, Larry Edgar and BMX Legend Ryan Nyquist

SYDNEY, Australia (March 5, 2017) – Speed, height, power and originality were in full force today, as the inaugural Vans BMX Pro Cup Series Global Qualifier re-commenced an intense BMX competition in Manly Beach, Australia despite severe weather delays. Beginning with a field of over 30 competitors, Spain’s Sergio Layos seizes the Vans BMX Pro Cup Sydney title, winning first place for executing flawless trick combinations and colossal airs with lightning speed throughout the custom-spec park terrain course. Not far behind him, contest warrior and BMX icon Dennis Enarson placed 2nd, delivering his signature performance, blasting through runs with effortless style and explosive lines. In a well-deserved 3rd place, Larry Edgar surprised all with his fearless momentum, consistency, and creativity, also earning him the LUX Best Trick award for his tuck no-hander to table hip transfer, over the spine.

Finally, in one of the best highlights of the day, Ryan Nyquist, crowd favorite and BMX’s most beloved legend, dominated the park terrain in overall performance, shocking the crowds with one of the most exciting runs of the entire competition, to end with almost landing an insane 900 in the deep end.


  1. Sergio Layos
  2. Dennis Enarson
  3. Larry Edgar
  4. Corey Walsh
  5. Kevin Peraza
  6. Gary Young
  7. Ryan Nyquist
  8. Jason Watts
  9. Matt Cordova
  10. Kris Fox


The Vans BMX Pro Cup series debuts in 2017 as the world’s definitive platform for BMX park terrain competition, showcasing the most talented BMX athletes from across the globe. The Vans BMX Pro Cup kicks off its inaugural season in Sydney, Australia as the series embarks on a four-stop global tour, concluding with the crowning of the first-ever Vans BMX Pro Cup World Champion. For more information on competition format, locations, athletes and sanctioning, please visit Follow us on social media: @vansbmx66 and @vansbmxprocup.

Dennis Enarson / Photo: Colin Mackay

Sergio Layos Photo: Colin Mackay

Larry Edgar Photo: Colin Mackay

Want to be a part of the 2018 Australian Open of Surfing?

Contact Us

Viewport width =